Goldhawk Road meet up with Lladybird

26 Nov

No finished item for you today -I’ve actually been quite productive with my sewing recently and I have a backlog of things to show you all, but the weather is so dark and miserable that I’m having a hard time managing to get photos of them!

I’m quite pleased with my recent productivity though – for the first time, I’ve managed to actually get some decent sewing done when I’ve only had smaller blocks of time. I always mean to, but I find it hard when I only have an hour or two, but the last week or so I have managed to make use of the shorter periods of time I’ve had, and not needed at least one longer spell of sewing to get things done, so I’m hoping I can keep that up!

So what I do have for you today is a few pics from the meet up in Goldhawk Road on Saturday, in honour of Lauren being over here. Unfortunately I don’t have as many pics as I should have had as I accidentally wiped my memory card after taking a few! Oops!

IMG_8008

IMG_8016

I had an awesome weekend this weekend – the meet up on Saturday was wonderful, it made me so happy! I love hanging out with sewing people – everyone is so nice, and it’s always nice to meet new people. I really enjoyed Rachel’s NYLon meetup in May, but with about 80 of us, it was a little overwhelming and I didn’t get the chance to talk to everyone. There were about 15-20 of us this time, which meant that we could still go round the shops as a group, and we all got a chance to chat to everyone. Straight after the meet up, I got the train up to Lincoln to watch my roller derby team play on Sunday, and as I was sitting on the train, I actually felt like I was going to burst with happiness after such an awesome day – that is what hanging out with sewing people does to me!

Oh, and in case you’re wondering, I did also buy some fabric, but due to various reasons, none of of it is currently in my possession, so no photos yet! I got some lovely wool melton to make a Hollyburn skirt, some jersey for another Coco, and some denim in preparation of giving the Ginger jeans a go…

IMG_8015

IMG_8011

The bout my roller derby team were playing was in the finals of a tournament that has been running this year. The first game they played was against our sister league, Big Bucks High Rollers, who we are good friends with and train with quite a bit, so it was always going to be an interesting game. It turned out to be probably the most tense game of anything I have ever watched – the lead kept switching all the way through, but when we were 18 points up going into the last jam, we thought we had it…until our jammer got sent to the penalty box and the other team managed to score enough points to beat us by three points! It was so stressful, and I was only watching! But I’m so proud of all my team mates for playing such a great game, and we then went on to cheer on Big Bucks for the rest of the day :) Here is a photo of them being awesome. You will have to excuse the slightly dubious fashion choice of shiny blue leggings and a multi-coloured thong…I really do need to get on and make team leggings! Those awesome green and black lightening blot ones that Big Bucks are sporting are made by a member of their team.

IMG_8057

So, all in all, a totally awesome weekend filled with lots of wonderful people :)

Here’s a list of people who attended the meet up, along with their blogs. Thanks to Grazia for being proactive on the day and putting the list together! I know there are a few people missing from it who’s names I can’t remember, so if you were there and you’re missing from the list, please let me know and I’ll add you in!

Alex
@sewrendipity

Birgitte
http://www.indigorchid.com/

Charly
http://thisblogisnotforyou.com/
@tbinfy

Claire
http://sew-incidentally.blogspot.co.uk/
@ClaireSews

Claire
http://www.iwanttobeaturtle.com/
@iwanttobeturtle

Fiona
http://chainstitcher.blogspot.co.uk/
@FionaParker17

Freya
http://thedressmakingdiaries.blogspot.co.uk/
@freyamaymakes

Grazia
No blog yet!

Janet
Not sure if Janet has a blog?

Julia
http://juliacroyden.blogspot.co.uk/
@sljuls

Kelly
https://makesewdo.wordpress.com
@makesewdo

Lauren
http://lladybird.com/
@LLLLADYBIRD

Mandy
No blog

Rachel
http://sewsouthlondon.wordpress.com/

Rachel
No blog (but a lovely Minoru!)

Sally
http://charityshopchic.net/
@charity_chic

Stevie
@bbhandmadedress

Tamsin
http://pimpmycurtains.blogspot.co.uk/

Tilly
http://www.tillyandthebuttons.com/
@TillyButtons

IMG_8012

I’m missing the three lovely ladies in the right of the group photo at the top of the page. I did spend quite a while admiring the Minoru of one of them, but rather ashamedly can’t remember her name! Once I find out, I’ll add them in to the list. Just the lady in red missing now, and someone else who was wearing a lovely red Minoru, but didn’t make it to the pub. Talking of Minorus, I saw not one but four gorgeous Minorus in person on Saturday, and it’s spurred me to hurry up and make mine. I made a toile for it the other weekend, but couldn’t actually decide if the size was right of if I needed to make the next size up. I think I probably need to go up, and I couldn’t bring myself to trace the pattern again, so it got put on hold! I was hoping to get it done in time for going to Paris this week (eeeee!), but decided that I could either make one coat, or a few other things that I wanted to make, so I went for the few other things. Minoru is high on my list to get back to though.

IMG_8010

Talking of Paris – I’M GOING TO PARIS TOMORROW!! I am so excited! I’ve never been to Paris before, so I’m really looking forward to it, and it’s going to be especially great being there with sewing people (see my notes about awesomeness and happy feelings above!). After a couple of days hanging out with sewing folk, Marcus is then coming out on Friday evening to join me and we’re going to spend the weekend out there. If anyone has any recommendations for must-see things in Paris, please do let me know!
20 Responses to “Goldhawk Road meet up with Lladybird”

  1. TamsinW-P November 26, 2014 at 11:15 #

    Hi Kelly, Lovely to meet you again and have a proper chance to chat! Glad the roller derby went well! Regarding the ladies at the far right of the group photo – the lady on the end was called Mandy and I don’t think she has a blog, the blonde lady in the middle was aonther Rachel (she had a fab navy Minoru on). She doesn’t have a blog either and I can’t remember the the lady in red’s name. There was another lady wearing a red Minoru earlier in the day but I don’t think she came to the pub.

    • Kelly November 26, 2014 at 11:18 #

      Hi Tamsin! It was lovely to meet you too, and I will be checking out your blog! Ah, I thought it might be Rachel (I was admiring her Minoru), but wasn’t sure if I’d got confused with the other Rachel! Thanks for the info, I’ll add them to the list! I remember the other Minoru, but I can’t recall her name either…

  2. Miss J November 26, 2014 at 14:29 #

    Hello Love,
    Nice to meet you and sorry we didn’t get to talk more.
    Hope to see you at another meet up!
    My blog is missjsews, if you get a chance to have a look please do :-)
    All the best
    J

    • Kelly November 26, 2014 at 14:38 #

      Nice to meet you too, and I will definitely check out your blog :) I’ll add it to the list above as well – are you Janet (going from the J…)?

  3. SewSouthLondon November 26, 2014 at 18:30 #

    Hi Kelly! Thanks for the fabulous account of our meet-up. I totally agree- I was on a high all weekend after meeting you all. Thanks for putting together the list. It was a shame I had to leave early and miss all the fun, food & gossip! x

    • Kelly November 26, 2014 at 21:12 #

      I was just buzzing afterwards, couldn’t concentrate on reading anything on the train because I was just so full of happy! Hopefully next time you’ll be able to hang out a bit more :) x

  4. gingermakes November 26, 2014 at 19:24 #

    How fun! What a great group! I have to admit that the leggings + thong made me chuckle. :)

    • Kelly November 26, 2014 at 21:16 #

      It was such a great day :) the thongs and leggings combo caused a lot of comments about 80s dance videos! The best bit about the thongs is that a couple of girls from the team that beat us wore them for the other games they played!

  5. Miss J November 26, 2014 at 20:36 #

    Yes Kelly, that’s me! xxx

  6. Rachel November 27, 2014 at 10:17 #

    thanks for the comments on my Minoru- didn’t expect the level of admiration and “seriously did you make that” sort of comments from other sewers so blushing with pride! I might even get on and make something else!
    Rachel

    • SewSouthLondon November 27, 2014 at 21:06 #

      And your skirt will be inspiring a new Moss mini in South London!

      • Tanya November 29, 2014 at 03:00 #

        “..I actually felt like I was going to burst with happiness after such an awesome day – that is what hanging out with sewing people does to me!..”

        I have to say, I felt exactly how you did after leaving a meet up I was walking around with a cheesy grin on my face after I left the Paris meet up to take the Eurostar back home and all day at work on Friday – Indeed it is a wonderful feeling to hang out with people with the same interest – no bored looking faces when you discuss your sewing projects!! I think is is time for me to go on a fabric diet after I binged in Paris…..!!!!

        • Kelly December 9, 2014 at 11:57 #

          Haha, now Paris is taking it to a whole new level (and a whole new blog post when I have time), that was such an amazing couple of days! I love hanging out with sewing people so much! I am definitely on a fabric diet in the new year!

      • Kelly December 9, 2014 at 11:56 #

        I didn’t even see that – too distracted by the coat!

    • Kelly December 9, 2014 at 11:56 #

      It is a gorgeous Minoru! It’s made me really want to get on and make mine now! And I want welt pockets like yours! Yes, sew more! And show us photos so we can continue to be inspired :)

  7. Charlie November 30, 2014 at 18:11 #

    Again, what a great meet up! Thanks so much for the attendance list!

    • Kelly December 9, 2014 at 11:57 #

      It was lovely to see you again Charlie!

  8. Birgitte December 8, 2014 at 11:27 #

    Ah, I meant to pitch in with my “me too, I had a great time”-comment, and then exams and a head-cold came in the way. But thanks for taking pictures and being lovely! :)

    • Kelly December 9, 2014 at 11:59 #

      Oh I feel your pain on the head cold, I’m just getting over a nasty one :/ I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in London and your exams went ok! It was lovely to meet you :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. pixelated flower kimono | indigorchid - December 15, 2014

    […] fabric at the Goldhawk Road meet-up, when Lauren of Lladybird was doing her transatlantic trip. Here is a post and some pictures from the meet-up that Kelly of makesewdo shared. Ok, back to the […]

Leave a Reply

chinelo bally

Dressmaker| Author| Blogger| Freehand cutter

infectiousstitches

Sewing, quilting and pattern making

Red Hot Rosie

Sewing Vintage for Dummies (that'd be Me)

Laura After Midnight

Behind the seams at Midnight Costume Services!

ZegnaJewelry

ZEGNA ASTON handmade

Sarabwritings's Blog

Life's Musings...being unemployed, starting out as a freelancer, and planning a wedding

stitchnsew

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Feel the fear and sew it anyway

Don't be afraid - it's only fabric!

Dresses & Me

I love to sew

Drama Queen Seams

Where handmade is back in style...

Awesome Åshild

Did You Do A "Something Every Day" Today?

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

christineshellard9

Late comer to climbing and want to share that experience with others

What Would Nancy Drew Wear?

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

I want to be a turtle

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

Molly's Sewing and Garage Sale Adventures

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

Tea For Two

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

Gertie's New Blog for Better Sewing

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

Tilly and the Buttons

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

'So, Zo...'

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

Cation Designs

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

