It’s time for an intervention…

20 Feb

…and I need your help!

It has been…a long time (I can’t even work it out, sometime last year, November maybe…) since I have sewn a garment. And I want to sew! But having had all that time off, and with my sewing room not yet decorated (although we’re starting this weekend, yippee!), I’m finding it very hard to get started again. And then when I decide I’m going to sew something, I’m so overwhelmed by all my pattern choices that I spend ages deliberating and STILL don’t start!

2014_03_badge

But The Monthly Stitch has come along and saved the day with their March challenge: Miss Bossy Patterns. The idea behind this challenge is that you select 3 patterns from your stash that you have not yet sewn up, and your readers vote on which one you should sew during March. I’m someone who operates well being told what to do – give me too many options and I just flounder – and I like a challenge, so this should be the perfect thing to get me started sewing again.

So, without further ado, here are the three patterns I need you to help me choose between. I’ve gone for some of the more basic patterns in my stash – I want to break myself back in gently.

First up, Simplicity 2451

2451

I won this pattern in a giveaway on Katy’s blog, and I was especially excited to win this particular pattern. Last year I went to the Knitting and Stitching show at Alexander Palace, and one of the fabric stalls had a lovely skirt made up, with a sign saying the pattern was available. I loved the look of the skirt, and so asked if they had the pattern. Not only did they not have any copies of the pattern left, but they couldn’t remember what pattern it was, other than that it was a Simplicity one. I did have a look through the Simplicity website when I got home, but to no avail. And then I saw Katy’s giveaway and there it was, the pattern I’d been looking for!

I’m not sure exactly what fabric I’d sew this up in, but I know I have some that would be suitable, it’s just a case of digging the right box out…

EDIT: I should add, I’m planning on making this up in view D, although I’ll also give the flared skirt a go at some point!

Next up is the Pavlova wrap top by Cake patterns

pavlova-wrap-top

I’ve had this pattern a while, and I also have some lovely white jersey from Minerva crafts to sew it up in, I just haven’t got round to it yet…

And finally, Tilly’s Mathilde blouse

Mathilde-Blouse

Again, I’m not entirely sure what fabric I’d use for this, but I know I have some that will be suitable. I have some chiffon that could work, but I’m also considering using that for a La Sylphide blouse, so I might just go for some cotton lawn for this.

All three are perfectly achievable patterns, and none of them need to be particularly fitted , which is a good thing – I currently have three projects on time out due to fitting issues! The latter two are PDFs, so I’m going to start cutting and sticking so that I’m prepared!

So, those are the choices, please go ahead and vote and help me out of my sewing lull! The poll will be open for a week from today.

27 Responses to “It’s time for an intervention…”

  1. Marion February 20, 2014 at 19:59 #

    Pavlovaaaaaaa

    • Kelly February 20, 2014 at 20:04 #

      Have you hit the vote-y thing?

      • Marion February 20, 2014 at 20:38 #

        I have a tracking blocker and I thought it was an add. Thanks for this, the vote is in now!

  2. Rebecca February 20, 2014 at 20:45 #

    I really like all your pattern choices! Can’t wait to see what you make :)

    • Kelly February 20, 2014 at 20:59 #

      Thanks Rebecca! I can’t wait to see what I make!

  3. Gjeometry February 20, 2014 at 20:57 #

    I went with the Mathilde blouse! They are all good choices though, but I thought the added placket with buttons would be a fun thing to sew. I know you already voted on my poll. :) I can’t wait to see which one wins!!

    • Kelly February 20, 2014 at 21:00 #

      Ugh, are you trying to torture me with buttons Catja ;) I have never had buttonholes that have been entirely successful, this could be a first! My skirt pattern is an anagram of your dress I voted for!

  4. sewsleepy February 20, 2014 at 21:46 #

    i went for mathilde – loved making mine and wear it all the time

    • Kelly February 20, 2014 at 22:25 #

      I definitely want to make it at some point! It’s not necessarily my normal style – I don’t tend to go for loose fitting things, but I’ll probably try putting a couple of darts in the back, or tucking it into a pencil skirt :)

  5. Lynne February 20, 2014 at 21:47 #

    Wow, that was a tough choice!! They’re all lovely, and I’ve made S2451 view D and Mathilde more than once! But I went for S2451 because it’s easy; my top tip for this pattern is to measure the pattern pieces before cutting because the ease is very generous. I had to take my first version in quite a bit. Good luck!

    • Kelly February 20, 2014 at 22:28 #

      I think 2451 and Mathilde would go really well together actually – I like looser fitting tops tucked into more fitted skirts so I think they’d look great together! Thanks for the tip on the skirt, I hadn’t realised there was so much ease, so I’ll be sure to check that! Seriously, why do they think people would need so much ease on a skirt, unless they want it to fall down!

  6. Béa February 20, 2014 at 21:51 #

    I voted for the Simplicity skirt, because it is FATE!!! You were meant to have that pattern and you were meant to make it into a gorgeous skirt, or two, or more…

    • Kelly February 20, 2014 at 22:29 #

      Hehe, thanks Béa! I really think it is fate – I couldn’t believe it when I saw that pattern in the giveaway, having not been able to identify it myself! There will definitely be multiple versions I think :)

  7. Claire (iwanttobeaturtle) February 20, 2014 at 22:34 #

    Oh, you will love the skirt so no surprises which button I hit!

    • Kelly February 23, 2014 at 10:31 #

      Yeah, I’m really looking forward to making that up at some point! I really want to get some nice interesting fabric for it, hence the need for a shopping trip!

  8. sewinggoddess February 21, 2014 at 11:09 #

    I voted for simplicity but am mostly awed of the idea, having people telling me what to do is the most effective way for making me want to do the opposite:D

    • Kelly February 23, 2014 at 10:31 #

      Haha, I do feel like that for a lot of things, but I really do want to sew up all my patterns, I just need someone else to give me some direction and make me actually do it!

      • sewinggoddess February 23, 2014 at 19:35 #

        Yes, if it would only help, I have enough unsewed patterns to last me at least two years…:P

  9. seamsoddlouise February 21, 2014 at 11:25 #

    They are all great but PAVLOVA.

    • Kelly February 23, 2014 at 10:32 #

      Thanks Louise :) Pavlova will definitely get made at some point soon regardless! You have permission to hold me to that – if you haven’t seen it on here in the next 6 months, tell me off!

  10. Ruth February 21, 2014 at 19:15 #

    They’re all lovely patterns – it was a tough choice!

    • Kelly February 23, 2014 at 10:32 #

      Thanks Ruth :)

  11. Vairë Gwîr February 22, 2014 at 17:32 #

    Simplicity skirt all the way! I remember you drooling over that skirt at the Knitting and Stitching show and I didn’t know (or forgot) that you found the pattern!

    • Kelly February 23, 2014 at 10:34 #

      Haha, I did like that skirt a lot! I really want to find some nice interesting fabric like they had to sew it up in. I was so excited when I found out which pattern it was, and then WON it! Yay!

  12. Daniela M. February 22, 2014 at 22:53 #

    I voted for the Pavlova! I have my eyes on the cake patterns as well and would love to hear about your impression – so selfish me! But you have the fabric already…so go!

    • Kelly February 23, 2014 at 10:35 #

      Hehe, that’s a perfectly good reason! I’ll definitely make it up soon. I also have Tiramisu and Red Velvet, so there should be lots of Cake on here soon. I started Tiramisu before we moved, but didn’t have time to work through some fitting issues, so I’ll pick that up again soon :)

  13. shawnta715 February 23, 2014 at 17:18 #

    I voted for the Pavlova! I have it but haven’t made it up yet but I love love love her Tiramisu. I also have the simplicity one because there is probably not a paper pattern I don’t own next to 99 cent sales so either one it ends up being I will be interested to see your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

chinelo bally

Dressmaker| Author| Blogger| Freehand cutter

infectiousstitches

Sewing, quilting and pattern making

Red Hot Rosie

Sewing Vintage for Dummies (that'd be Me)

Laura After Midnight

Behind the seams at Midnight Costume Services!

ZegnaJewelry

ZEGNA ASTON handmade

Sarabwritings's Blog

Life's Musings...being unemployed, starting out as a freelancer, and planning a wedding

stitchnsew

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Feel the fear and sew it anyway

Don't be afraid - it's only fabric!

Dresses & Me

I love to sew

Drama Queen Seams

Where handmade is back in style...

Awesome Åshild

Did You Do A "Something Every Day" Today?

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

christineshellard9

Late comer to climbing and want to share that experience with others

What Would Nancy Drew Wear?

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

I want to be a turtle

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

Molly's Sewing and Garage Sale Adventures

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

Tea For Two

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

Gertie's New Blog for Better Sewing

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

Tilly and the Buttons

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

'So, Zo...'

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

