My sewing room to be!

16 Feb

Firstly, a HUGE thank you for all your lovely comments on my Lady Skater. The response I got to that post, both on here and on facebook, absolutely blew me away. That post smashed my record for my most ever views in a day, and not just by a little, but with more than double the previous record, I had so many lovely comments, and a number of people told me it was their favourite thing of mine that I’d made. And I have to say, it really surprised me. Maybe it was because I’d made the dress as basically a wearable muslin, and a way to try out making a knit dress before using my nice fabric, maybe it was partly because, compared to some other things I’ve made, it was a very simple, plain grey dress. Evidently I should wear grey more often! Just goes to show that sometimes you need an objective opinion. I actually wore the dress for the first time the day after I published that post, so encouraged was I by all your lovely remarks. So thank you all for making my day :)

Secondly, wow I’ve been away for a while! Ha, I promise regular service will be resumed shortly! For the last 6 weeks or so, everything has been house related, and there has been no time or space (both literally and in my head!) for sewing and sewing-related thoughts. But since my last post, I have bought, (part) decorated and moved into my very own house! So it’s been worth the having-no-time-for-sewing, especially as I will soon have a sewing room! Yippee!

IMG_3380

Currently my sewing room is undecorated, and full of boxes (although not as full with boxes as it was), so it might be a little while until I can actually get to some proper sewing again, but man will it be good when I can! We managed to get the bedroom and Marcus’ study decorated before we moved in (ish!), which were the critical things. And when I say we, I largely mean my parents, who were absolutely amazing, and gave up three (long) weekends to come and help us out/do most of the actual decorating. We also had some awesome friends who came to help us with some of the prep work for the decorating, and more awesome friends who helped us move, and we couldn’t have done it without all of them.

IMG_3343

I really don’t know why Marcus didn’t want to keep the pastel floral wallpaper in his study…

IMG_3392

But I do love how it looks now, it’s a lovely warm pale terracotta colour, which isn’t coming out terribly well in this pic

The sewing room is a slightly bigger job to do – it has this horrible carpet, which not only do I not like, but it’s also really thick pile, which would make it a nightmare for all those loose threads that end up on the floor. I’m undecided at the moment as to what to do with the floor – I’d love to just leave it as the boards underneath, but I’m not sure what state they’re in. It also might lack a bit of cosyness without something down. I might see how it goes, and then perhaps put laminate floor or carpet down at some point in the future. The walls also need quite a bit of filling, and we’re going to line them before painting.

IMG_3361

The sewing room as it was before. Seriously, that wallpaper is migraine inducing!

But that does give me some time to think about what I want to do with the room. I essentially have a big space (it’s like 11′ x 8′ or something), to build up into my sewing space however I like. It’s also (ostensibly) going to be our guest room, but that will basically mean I’m going to put a futon in there :) The thing I am looking forward to most is having enough work space that I can have my sewing machine, overlocker and cutting mat all out at once, and not having to constantly swap them around, which eats up half my sewing time.

IMG_3385

There is also a huge walk in cupboard in the corner, which we’ll probably shelve out at some point

I was planning on having separate tables for sewing machine, overlocker etc, but then Marcus suggested having one long desk, that we could build to go round two of the walls! Ooh, I like that idea! I’m probably still going to have a separate cutting table, hopefully on castors, so that I can pull it out and move all the way around it. I haven’t yet figured out the best solutions for fabric storage, although expedit units are a strong contender. I’d love any suggestions you might have on that, or anything else I could do with the space.

IMG_3389

 

IMG_3390

 

The room is going to have one wall painted a mint green colour, and the other three a paler green. We have the same colours in the bedroom too – we had to have something in there that went with the existing mauve carpet. The entire room was purple before, it was quite something to behold – a bit like being inside a grape…

IMG_3349

Very purple! But look at all that wardrobe space! Don’t worry, I’ve filled it all already…oops…

IMG_3354

I’ll be sure to post some pics of my sewing room once it’s done, in the meantime, I will be lurking pictures of everyone else’s for inspiration! If you have pics of your sewing space, please share the link below and I’ll come and have a nosy!

IMG_3396

Oh, and check out my pool! In England…yes…pool party at mine anyone? Homemade swimsuits optional ;)

17 Responses to “My sewing room to be!”

  1. seamsoddlouise February 16, 2014 at 15:58 #

    Congratulations on your new house, looking forward to seeing your new sewing room.

    • Kelly February 17, 2014 at 21:30 #

      Thanks Louise! I can’t wait to get it up and running.

  2. Emmely February 16, 2014 at 18:56 #

    Good luck on getting your perfect sewing space organised. It looks like you’ve got quite a bit of room to work with. I like the idea of having this huge table, that would also be great for cutting out large garments.

    • Kelly February 17, 2014 at 21:31 #

      Thanks Emmely :) yeah, I have loads of room, I just need to make sure I make the best use of it. I really want a big table for cutting – it frustrates me so much when I can’t get the whole width of my fabric on the table to cut it.

  3. Amy February 16, 2014 at 22:42 #

    This post is full of amazing things! A sewing room! A grape explosion bed room! A pool! Blimey.

    • Kelly February 17, 2014 at 21:32 #

      Hehe, thanks Amy. The pool is a little ridiculous (in this country), but hopefully we’ll get a couple of nice days in the summer ;)

  4. Daniela M. February 17, 2014 at 08:29 #

    Congrats on moving into your new home!!! You did a great job with the painting and decorating so far. Just the transformation of Marcus room and your sleeping room looks amazing. And you have your own sewing space. I think you will have loads of fun of decorating it. It is such a great idea to put a long table in there for your overlocker and sewing machine, I can’t wait to see the outcome! I do not have any pics from my sewing space because I only have a little desk cramped into our “office”. But I know that Tilly from Tilly and the buttons showed pics from her new sewing room, so maybe you can get some inspiration there :)

    • Kelly February 17, 2014 at 21:34 #

      Thanks Ela! I’m really pleased with how the decorating has worked out, it really has transformed the rooms. We mainly have my dad to thank for that :) Yeah I saw Tilly’s post, there are some good ideas there that I will be trying to remember!

  5. Vairë Gwîr February 17, 2014 at 09:26 #

    I see so much potential in that sewing room… not to mention the swimming pool ;-)

    • Kelly February 17, 2014 at 21:34 #

      Hehe, absolutely! You’d better get making a swimsuit ;)

  6. sewlittletime February 17, 2014 at 10:30 #

    ooh lovely! i think the idea for a corner desk sounds great. you could have a chair on castors and whiz between machines! i have seen a few people have a table from ikea which you can adjust the height of which would be perfect for cutting – no more bad backs! i would have something very simple (like tilly’s colour scheme) and maybe put up some bunting and a cute rug.

    • Kelly February 17, 2014 at 21:40 #

      Yep, that’s my thought! I’ve got a nice wheely desk chair that I re-covered a few years ago (I was into sewing before I even realised I was into sewing!). Yes, I really want to get a table at the right height, my back hurts at the best of times and leaning over a low table cutting or tracing does it no favours at all! Ooh I really like the idea of having some bunting of something up – I had thought in the past about putting sewing related things on the walls, but I’d forgotten about it until you said that, thanks for reminding me Jo!

  7. fionaparker17 February 17, 2014 at 11:24 #

    Wow you lucky thing! Glad to hear your move has gone well, good luck with the rest of the decorating. Looking forward to seeing your sewing room!

    • Kelly February 17, 2014 at 21:41 #

      Thanks Fiona! I’m so glad it’s all (almost!) over and things are getting sorted – it’s been a manic few weeks! I look forward to sharing the pics with you when it’s done!

  8. Ruth February 17, 2014 at 18:01 #

    Congratulations on your move! It looks like you’ve done a good job of the decorating so far. Your sewing room looks like it’s a great space – I like the sound of the desk wrapped around two walls, it might possibly leave more space to pretend that it’s a spare room as well as a sewing space!

    • Kelly February 17, 2014 at 21:43 #

      Thanks Ruth, I’m really pleased with how it all looks so far. I do like he long desk idea, it will probably be more efficient use of space. Hehe, ‘pretend’ is the operative word ;) I might try and get a gateleg table as a cutting table, then I can at least fold that out the way if needs be.

  9. Sarah Kate Creations February 18, 2014 at 16:27 #

    I have nominated you for the Liebster Award for fabulous beginning bloggers. To accept your award and see what it is all about check out my blog post… http://sarahkatecreations.wordpress.com/2014/02/18/the-liebster-award-discover-new-blogs/
    On another note I am excited to see how your sewing room turns out. I will be moving soon and am looking for inspiration.

Leave a Reply

chinelo bally

Dressmaker| Author| Blogger| Freehand cutter

infectiousstitches

Sewing, quilting and pattern making

Red Hot Rosie

Sewing Vintage for Dummies (that'd be Me)

Laura After Midnight

Behind the seams at Midnight Costume Services!

ZegnaJewelry

ZEGNA ASTON handmade

Sarabwritings's Blog

Life's Musings...being unemployed, starting out as a freelancer, and planning a wedding

stitchnsew

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Feel the fear and sew it anyway

Don't be afraid - it's only fabric!

Dresses & Me

I love to sew

Drama Queen Seams

Where handmade is back in style...

Awesome Åshild

Did You Do A "Something Every Day" Today?

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

christineshellard9

Late comer to climbing and want to share that experience with others

What Would Nancy Drew Wear?

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

I want to be a turtle

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

Molly's Sewing and Garage Sale Adventures

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

Tea For Two

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

Gertie's New Blog for Better Sewing

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

Tilly and the Buttons

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

'So, Zo...'

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

Cation Designs

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

