Finished: The CUTEST baby dungarees

29 Sep

Recently, two of my cousins became dads for the first time, and I thought this would be a good opportunity to try my hand at making some baby clothes. They both had boys, so cute little dresses weren’t an option, and I decided dungarees were the way to go. I found a few really cute patterns on Etsy, and with the help of my colleague Anthony (I promised him a mention in this post!), who is an avid reader of my blog (he likes the posts where I have adventures like going fabric shopping! I’m trying to get him to take up sewing, but so far have been unsuccessful!), settled on this pattern by Pupurita.

Baby dungareers

This isn’t a good reflection of the colour – the brighter blue further down is much more accurate!

I had some lovely blue and white striped seersucker (I think!) fabric from my freecycle stash which I wanted to use for the lining – I really like the fabric, but I thought that if I used it to make something for myself, it would end up either looking like a school dress or a nurse’s uniform! I chose some really nice royal blue corduroy from Mason’s to go with it. I love this fabric so much that I’m going to make myself a Kelly skirt with it. I think there just have enough from the 2.5m I bought to eek it out from what I have left.

baby dungarees pattern

In hindsight, should have gone for a better background than the bookcase, but it was early…

Although both the babies are currently only a month or two old, I made the pattern up in the 1 year size. I wanted to make a size that hopefully they could still wear even if it was a bit big, and that they might fit into for more than a couple of weeks! The pattern has 4 sizes, from 6 months to two years. Thee pattern has  4 button closures, and really cute patch pockets on the front, and the back. I used a strip of the lining fabric to accentuate the front pocket. I also topstitched the top edge of the back pockets as well, to give a bit more definition.

baby dungarees

IMG_2628

The buttons I got turned out to match the lining fabric almost perfectly – I didn’t even realise this when I bought them, it wasn’t until I sewed them on that I realised how good they looked! They are slightly smaller than the buttons the pattern specifies, but they work fine. Too much smaller and they’d probably end up a bit fiddly, but these are just right :)

baby dungarees

This is more like the true colour – it’s gorgeous!

The pattern instructions were generally pretty easy to follow – the only bit I struggled with was attaching the legs bands on the bottom – I could just NOT work out how it was meant to be done. I thought originally that the fabric for the band was meant to sit on top of the main fabric, and the instructions just didn’t seem to work like this. I eventually worked out that, actually, the bands are an extension of the leg, and attach onto the bottom. Worth bearing in mind if you choose a really lightweight fabric for this part, although it is interfaced. The legs bands did cause me a bit of an issue – once I’d put the rest of the dungarees together, it looked like they were going to be too short to go round. At this point, I got really fed up and abandoned the project for a day or so. But once I looked again, they did just about fit, if I used a really scant seam allowance to join the bands. Also, when the instructions said to stitch the leg bands on from the outside, you really ought to do it from the outside, otherwise you turn them the right way out, realise that your stitching is really wonky, and have to rip it all out and do it again!

IMG_2617

One of the pairs ended up with two rows of stitching inside…I call it a feature!

The top half of the dungarees are sewn as you would normally sew a lining and main fabric together – sewn together inside out, and then turned. The legs however don’t have the lining and main fabric sewn together first – you just pin all 4 layers together and then overlock/zigzag stitch the side seams.

IMG_0257

This was my first attempt at sewing buttons and buttonholes. I did both of them on my machine. There seems to be a thing against sewing on buttons using a machine, but I did because a) every time I sew a button on by hand, it falls off and b) I was running a little short on time. The machine actually did a beautiful job. The buttons holes also generally behaved themselves, other than a couple of occasions where the bit that pulls down on the machine so that it stops the buttonhole at the right place, slipped slightly so that it wasn’t ALL the way down. Even though it was only a mm or 2 up, that prevented it from working, so that’s something I’ll have to keep an eye out for. And man do I love having a machine that does automatic buttonholes! So glad I have that and not a 4-step one. I did end up ripping a few buttonholes out, but mainly because I’d got them in slightly the wrong place. When slicing them, I also managed to accidentally slice the threads on one of them, so I had to go over and reinforce that one by hand. It doesn’t look the neatest, but it does the job!

Ripping out multiple buttonholes not so much fun...

Third time lucky…ripping out multiple buttonholes not so much fun!

I have to say, I think these are my favourite thing that I’ve sewn. They are just SO. DAMN. CUTE! I am absolutely in love with them! They make me want to have children now just so that I can dress them in these (I’m not actually going to, but still!). And the photos really don’t do them justice, they are so much cuter in real life! For some reason, I struggled to get decent photos of them as well, I’m a bit disappointed with how the photos turned out.

baby dungarees

Just how cute are these?!

I went down to visit one of my cousins and his little family on a couple of weeks ago. The dungarees were a big hit (quote “I’ve never been so impressed by an item of clothing”), so I am delighted. The baby was also a big hit with me, he’s adorable! And Royal Mail tells me that the second pair have now been delivered (it took me a little while to get round to reinforcing that buttonhole!), so I’m safe to publish the post now without ruining the surprise!

baby dungarees

IMG_2621

In case you hadn’t gathered already, I absolutely LOVE these! They are simply adorable. The pattern was pretty straightforward to follow, and I am beyond delighted with the results. I managed to get the two pairs out of 1.5m of the main fabric, and probably the same of the lining. Baby clothes are so economical! These are also the first selfless sewing I’ve done since I started making clothes! I can definitely see more of these in my future should other people I know start producing little people!

IMG_2757

IMG_2634

IMG_2764

6 Responses to “Finished: The CUTEST baby dungarees”

  1. Valerie September 29, 2013 at 11:42 #

    Those are absolutely adorable! Well done! :)

    • Kelly September 29, 2013 at 15:19 #

      Thanks Valerie!

  2. Daniela September 30, 2013 at 19:36 #

    These are so cute! The color and fabric combo is amazing! I wish I had little kids in my family… And I am looking forward to see your Kelly Skirt! Maybe, if you have some seersucker left you could use it for the pockets :)

    • Kelly October 1, 2013 at 21:43 #

      Thanks Daniela! I’m so happy with how the fabric combo turned out, I wasn’t sure about it to start with, I even bought some plain blue polycotton as another possible lining, as I wasn’t sure that they went. But it really worked! I do have some seersucker left, and I do intend to use it for the posket :) unfortunately I didn’t *quite* have enough of the corduroy left, so I’m going to have to wait until I can get to the shop on Saturday before I can start it!

  3. SeamsOddLouise October 8, 2013 at 11:36 #

    These are wonderful, and babies in dungarees are the cutest boys or girls. No wonder they were impressed by them. I don’t think of looking on etsy for patterns, what a good idea thanks..

    • Kelly October 11, 2013 at 19:40 #

      Thanks Louise! There are quite a few little pattern shops on etsy, so definitely worth a look if you can’t find what you’re looking for!

Leave a Reply

chinelo bally

Dressmaker| Author| Blogger| Freehand cutter

infectiousstitches

Sewing, quilting and pattern making

Red Hot Rosie

Sewing Vintage for Dummies (that'd be Me)

Laura After Midnight

Behind the seams at Midnight Costume Services!

ZegnaJewelry

ZEGNA ASTON handmade

Sarabwritings's Blog

Life's Musings...being unemployed, starting out as a freelancer, and planning a wedding

stitchnsew

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Feel the fear and sew it anyway

Don't be afraid - it's only fabric!

Dresses & Me

I love to sew

Drama Queen Seams

Where handmade is back in style...

Awesome Åshild

Did You Do A "Something Every Day" Today?

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

christineshellard9

Late comer to climbing and want to share that experience with others

What Would Nancy Drew Wear?

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

I want to be a turtle

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

Molly's Sewing and Garage Sale Adventures

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

Tea For Two

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

Gertie's New Blog for Better Sewing

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

Tilly and the Buttons

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

'So, Zo...'

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

