Some recent acquisitions!

18 Aug

I’ve managed to acquire a couple of new sewing books recently. Whenever I walk into town at lunchtime, I tend to pop into the Oxfam book shop to see if they have any vintage (or modern) sewing books that I can pick up. Up until now, I’ve never had any luck, but the gods were on my side recently. I found not one, but two sewing books there on one occasion, for a couple of pounds each. One is the Vogue/Butterick step-by-step guide to sewing, and other is the Reader’s Digest complete guide to sewing. I do already have this one (it was my dad’s first Christmas present to my mum, about 40 years ago, but it never really got used, so they passed it on to me last Christmas!), but I’ve heard a few people say it’s one of the best sewing books they’ve come across, so I bought it as a future present for one of my sewing friends.

vogue butterick book

The following week, I managed to also get the Reader’s Digest complete guide to needlework. It’s got some good stuff on applique, quilting, knitting and crochet, so hopefully another good reference book!

readers digest needlework book

I also bought the Colette Sewing Handbook recently, so I’ve got lots of reading material to work my way through! Must actually find time to sit down and read them now – I’m one of those people who seems to think that by owning books, I can absorb the information in them by osmosis – I really wish this worked!

8 Responses to “Some recent acquisitions!”

  1. Gjeometry August 18, 2013 at 18:47 #

    Great finds! I’ve been lucky at my local thrift shops and have found a bunch of great sewing books.

    • Kelly August 19, 2013 at 13:28 #

      I’d been looking, and had never found anything, and then suddenly 3 at once :) like buses I guess!

  2. androoschmiff August 18, 2013 at 22:39 #

    Having a bookcase of similar purchases (the best ones coming from charity shops), I think there are only so many you can/should have…

    • Kelly August 19, 2013 at 13:33 #

      Yes, for space limitations if nothing else! But I’d rather have a couple of really good books that I know I can refer to than a whole load, and not remember what is in each one and so never use them.

  3. Ela Sews and Doesn't Sleep August 19, 2013 at 10:40 #

    You can never have enough sewing books! I like them so much more than browsing in the Internet :) I have the Colette Sewing Book as well and I am just working on the Pastille Dress. But it is a good idea to look in the thrift shops, I might try my luck as well.

    • Kelly August 19, 2013 at 13:38 #

      I do tend to refer to the Internet as my first port of call (I remember at one time desperately trying to fine a lemon shortbread recipe that I’d made before, not being ale to find it anywhere online, and then finally realising that it was actually out of a cookbook I had!), but I’m trying to use books more – it’s nice to have one reliable source that you can go to for tips on whatever you’re doing, but it also means that I don’t sit down to look at one thing, and get distracted by other stuff online!

  4. ShanniLoves August 20, 2013 at 16:35 #

    That Reader’s Digest is a gem!

Leave a Reply

chinelo bally

Dressmaker| Author| Blogger| Freehand cutter

infectiousstitches

Sewing, quilting and pattern making

Red Hot Rosie

Sewing Vintage for Dummies (that'd be Me)

Laura After Midnight

Behind the seams at Midnight Costume Services!

ZegnaJewelry

ZEGNA ASTON handmade

Sarabwritings's Blog

Life's Musings...being unemployed, starting out as a freelancer, and planning a wedding

stitchnsew

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Feel the fear and sew it anyway

Don't be afraid - it's only fabric!

Dresses & Me

I love to sew

Drama Queen Seams

Where handmade is back in style...

Awesome Åshild

Did You Do A "Something Every Day" Today?

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

christineshellard9

Late comer to climbing and want to share that experience with others

What Would Nancy Drew Wear?

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

I want to be a turtle

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

Molly's Sewing and Garage Sale Adventures

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

Tea For Two

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

Gertie's New Blog for Better Sewing

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

Tilly and the Buttons

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

'So, Zo...'

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

