Finished: Grainline studio Scout woven tee…I’m not sure about it…

13 Aug

So, I made myself a Scout tee. I don’t like it. But I think I know why. I’ve seen (as I’m sure you have) a lot of grainline studio’s scout tees floating around the blogosphere. And they all look really great. Like, for example…

Jen’s:

teafortwo scout tee

Image: Tea for two

Or Dixie’s:

dixie diy

Image: Dixie DIY

Or Jeni’s:

incolororder

Image: In Color Order

Or Fiona’s lovely lace variation:

scout woven tee

Image: Diary of a Chainstitcher

But I wasn’t sure if it was something that I would like to wear. I tend to generally wear quite fitted clothes, which to be honest, wasn’t something I’d ever really noticed about myself until I started seeing things like the Scout online, and wondering why they didn’t particularly appeal to me. So the idea of a t-shirt that wasn’t stretchy and fitted was a little alien to me. But then I remembered some really lovely cotton print fabric which I’d bought in Mason’s when I bough the fabric for my first dress, and started thinking that it would make a really nice Scout tee. I decided to challenge my usual style a bit and go for it. music print fabric So I printed, traced and cut out my pattern and about 2 weeks later, finally had time to cut out my fabric and actually put it together. I’m really pleased with the construction and how it all came together. I decided to try my hand at French seams, and am really happy with how they’ve turned out. I had a couple of issues with the neckline in that the bias strip I had cut from the pattern wasn’t quite long enough when I pinned it on, but I ironed it again and stretched it out a bit and that was fine, even if my neckline doesn’t lay entirely flat. It was also my first attempt at setting in sleeves, and that went without a hitch too. But then I put it on. And kind of felt like I was wearing a tent. I mean, I knew it was going to be looser than I’m used to wearing, but it did seem to be excessively so. I thought maybe I was being critical so asked Marcus how it looked. His response was that he is used to seeing me in more fitted things. Hmm.

scout woven tee

Bit baggy there…

scout woven tee6

Little bit tent-like…

scout woven tee2

Hmmm…and yes, I totally realise these shoes don’t really go, I pulled some on quickly to take the pics and it was either these or my trainers!

scout woven tee4

I don’t like the way it hangs so far out at the back :(

At some point I looked at the sizing chart again and realised the measurements for the size 10 (which I’d made) were my measurements when I first took them when I started my sewing course, before I lost a bit of weight and an inch or two off all my measurements. Why I cut that size I have no idea. I know my measurements have changed, after I almost went a size too big on my bombshell swimsuit, and I also swore that I’d measure myself before every project, to avoid doing it in future. But for some reason those first set of measurements are ingrained in my head, and it didn’t even occur to me to double check. Turns out I should have made a size 8, which would account for some of the excess bulk. I’d say lesson learned, but I thought I’d learned last time!

scout woven tee3

The face says it all.

So now I’m trying to decide what to do with this one…do I:

  1. Wear it as is and hope I get used to it
  2. Make a sort of bias tape tie belt to wear with it
  3. Put some contour darts into the back of it to take it in a bit
  4. Rip it apart, cut the fabric down and make it in a size 8 instead…but the French seams are so beautiful! And I’m not sure how well the neckline in particular would hold up to being ripped apart and re-sewn.

I may do one of the above and also make myself another one, in different fabric, in the correct size, but I’d like to make the one I’ve got into something wearable as well.

What do you think I should do with it?

scout woven tee

Accidental model pose as I walk back to the camera!

On the plus side, I finally got round to fixing my decent camera, which has been broken for MONTHS, since a lens got stuck on it. I’d been unable to decide whether to pay someone an obscene amount of money to fix it, or to follow instructions on the web to do it myself by dissecting the lens from the outside until I could remove it. In the end, I opted for getting Marcus to perform the surgery for me, while I assisted as nurse, because it’s much easier to have someone else stick a pair of pliers inside your £600 camera than to do it yourself… Here he is in action!

IMG_0450

IMG_0451

Good job done!

Remains of my lens :(

Remains of my lens :(

So I now have a working SLR again, AND I finally got round to buying a new remote for it (the one I had for my previous camera doesn’t work with this one unfortunately), which means I can now take my own sewing creation photos! Although I did feel a little conspicuous taking the ones above – the only half decent backdrop for photos is the little strip of grass in the car park of our flats. Which all the flats look over. While I am posing there, with my camera and tripod set up. Self conscious much. This time, I think it was just our neighbour’s three year old watching me. He is officially the most awesome kid I know, he regularly comes out onto their balcony to greet me when I get home from work, it’s the cutest thing! May have to find somewhere less public to take my photos in future though!

But back to the point – how shall I fix my Scout?

(Don’t forget, you’ve still got until midnight tomorrow – Weds 14th) to enter the pattern giveaway!)

12 Responses to “Finished: Grainline studio Scout woven tee…I’m not sure about it…”

  1. Vairë Gwîr August 13, 2013 at 16:26 #

    No. 5: give it to me!!!!
    This t-shirt is A-MA-ZING! Totally up my street. I love the print, the fit, the neckline… everything! I seriously love it.
    I understand it’s not the type of stuff you usually wear (I’d feel the same in a dress with a fitted bodice!), but give it a try. I think it looks great on you.

    • Kelly August 14, 2013 at 23:36 #

      Hehe, nice try! Aw, thanks. I think it’s just so not what I’m used to, I think if I made the right size I’d probably like it! I’ll wear it and see if it grows on me, and maybe try putting some darts in. If I really don’t get on with it then I’ll let you have it ;)

  2. Ela Sews and Doesn't Sleep August 14, 2013 at 13:47 #

    I also think the shirt looks lovely on you! And comparing it with the other photos, I would say your shirt turned out the same. It looks a bit loose on the back, but that might have been with the others as well and is probably the style? Have you tried to wear it with a high waisted skirt? Otherwise, you can try to pin in two waistdarts at the back and just have a look if you like it. I know how annoying it can be, when you don’t like your garment. You are probably not going to wear it. I hope you will find a solution, because the fabric is just lovely!

    • Kelly August 14, 2013 at 23:39 #

      Thanks Ela! I think it’s the hanging out at the back that’s bugging me, so might try putting some waist darts in! I haven’t tried wearing it with a skirt no, although I will give that a go, good idea! I love the fabric, so I’m determined to get to like it, because at the moment I’m just not wearing it!

  3. Fiona August 15, 2013 at 10:09 #

    I think it looks great! But completely understand your reservations so I definitely think make the size smaller and give it another chance! Maybe with this one you could take it in down the side seams a bit? A bit of a faff I know once you’ve done the French seams!
    Also I’d maybe try it in a drapier fabric, I made one in a lovely hammered silk and its much more flattering than my other ones I think because of the way it hangs! I still love this one anyway and hope you do wear it!

    • Kelly August 16, 2013 at 20:12 #

      Thanks Fiona. I’ve got some nice floral print fabric lined up to make a smaller one. Still debating over whether to take this one apart or not! Good tip on the fabric, thanks, I’ll see what I can find that might work well with it! I really want to like this pattern! Not least because it’s so nice and quick to sew up :)

  4. Gjeometry August 16, 2013 at 04:53 #

    I think your top is very cute! I know what you mean though, if it’s something new that you are not used to wearing, then, it’s going to feel ‘alien’. I would totally salvage it and add darts! You could add bust darts and waist darts. Not sure how they would look, however, as then the sleeves are a looser fit, but you could baste them in and see how it looks. Otherwise, a belt can do SO many things. What about adding elastic shirring on the inside of the top, at the waist for a few rows, to kind of cinch it in? Good luck with it!

    • Kelly August 16, 2013 at 20:15 #

      Thanks Catja. Im going to go for waist darts, not sure about bust, I don’t mind the front being a bit looser, it’s mainly the back that annoys me. Also, too many darts and I’ll never be able to get it on or off!

  5. tania@sewitanyway August 19, 2013 at 15:24 #

    I think waist darts on the back will totally change how you feel about it! You will probably be able to get some little ones in the front too, and still not need a zip. (I’ve got darts front and back on my new look 6808 and no zip.)

    Before you cut the size 8 for next time- perhaps check where your sleeve seams hit on your shoulder. Are they sitting on the bone? (I’d say they probably should on this type of top.) It may be that you’ll want to keep the size 10 shoulders and grade into an 8 on the waist etc…? Too big on the shoulders always makes a top look less fitted too.

    • Kelly August 22, 2013 at 19:13 #

      Thanks for the advice Tania – would making it in a smaller size move the shoulder seam forward or backwards?

  6. Karen MacDonald February 28, 2015 at 11:43 #

    Did you alter your Scout Tee? I have made one, my first anything since school, which was a very long time ago. I’m very proud of it but it’s unlikely to ever see the light of day, similar fitting issues to your own, the material was really cheap and it was intended as a try out. Now I have bought several more lovely pieces of material, better colours, more drapey, but I can’t decide whether to make the pattern as is or mess with it, maybe add a FBA. I’m short, small boned, no waist with a significant bust. Bought tops are usually Jersey. Woven usually ends up tent like or gapey. I dream of a perfectly fitted woven top and my ultimate aim a dress. What did you do? Love your blog. Karen x

    • Kelly March 2, 2015 at 14:13 #

      I hate to admit, but I didn’t in the end. It say around for about a year until I figured that I probably wasn’t going to get around to it, and so I gave it to a friend, who is much taller than me and who I thought it might suit better! If you want a perfectly fitting woven top, I’d probably suggest a more fitted pattern – this pattern is never going to give you a particularly fitted top. If you do want a woven T-shirt that is a bit more fitted, you could try the Dove fitted tee by Sinbad and Sailor – it’s still a woven T-shirt pattern, but is a bit more fitted in its design. Let me know how you get on, and I’m glad you enjoy the blog :) x

Leave a Reply

chinelo bally

Dressmaker| Author| Blogger| Freehand cutter

infectiousstitches

Sewing, quilting and pattern making

Red Hot Rosie

Sewing Vintage for Dummies (that'd be Me)

Laura After Midnight

Behind the seams at Midnight Costume Services!

ZegnaJewelry

ZEGNA ASTON handmade

Sarabwritings's Blog

Life's Musings...being unemployed, starting out as a freelancer, and planning a wedding

stitchnsew

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Feel the fear and sew it anyway

Don't be afraid - it's only fabric!

Dresses & Me

I love to sew

Drama Queen Seams

Where handmade is back in style...

Awesome Åshild

Did You Do A "Something Every Day" Today?

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

christineshellard9

Late comer to climbing and want to share that experience with others

What Would Nancy Drew Wear?

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

I want to be a turtle

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

Molly's Sewing and Garage Sale Adventures

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

Tea For Two

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

Gertie's New Blog for Better Sewing

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

Tilly and the Buttons

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

'So, Zo...'

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

