Holiday time!

6 Jul

I finally finished my Bombshell swimsuit today, just in time for heading off on holiday! And it is now packed…in my hand luggage, because I don’t want to risk losing it should my luggage go AWOL!

IMG_0130

Completely unavoidably I ended up with a whole list of post-holiday things that had to be done today, so it was a bit of a mad panic trying to get everything done, not helped by the fact that when I tried to use my sewing machine, it started growling at me. No idea what’s wrong with it, it was fine when I left off last weekend, but that will be something to sort out when I come back :( Due to it being a little rushed, I’m not entirely happy with how the bust has come out. I think it looks fine, it just doesn’t sit as well as I’d like. I’m sure once I’m lying on the beach with a cocktail I’ll forget about that though! I’ll do a full post on the bombshell when I get back, complete with actual photos – I wasn’t about to post photos of my pale pasty legs on the interwebs, I’ll wait til after the hol ;)

I also did a lovely rolled hem on the piece of chiffon I bought to make into a sarong – I think I actually love my overlocker!

I had written a blog post for today, but cleverly wrote it at work during lunch, and forgot to email it to myself! So that one will have to wait!

I’ve got a few little projects lined up for when I get back – a couple of presents for friends/colleagues who are getting married – even managed to fit in a quick run to Masons today to pick up what I needed for those, as I am going to have NO time after I get back and before I need them! And I’m really looking forward to getting started on my next item of clothing – have cut out the fabric for Simplicity 1913, so just need some time (and a happier sewing machine!) to get on with that!

Those of you who are in the UK, enjoy the (supposedly!) nice weather this week – for the second year in a row I’m out the country for pretty much the one week of summer we get, but actually, I think it would just drive me crazy being stuck in the office staring longingly at the sun! And I shall be hoping that my sewing holds up to the sea!

Zakynthos

4 Responses to “Holiday time!”

  1. Gjeometry July 6, 2013 at 22:05 #

    I’m LOVING your bombshell!! Fabulous retro fabric and love all the shirring! I just sewed up my swimsuit. It came out good, but have to say, it’s not that flattering on me. I need a different style. But, never having sewn a swimsuit, it was certainly fun to do and good practice! I hope you get much wear out of your swimsuit on your holiday! And very smart to pack it in your carry-on. You should always pack toothbrush, money, underwear and swimsuit in your carry-on. Just in case. Have a good time on your holiday!

    • Kelly July 6, 2013 at 23:13 #

      Aw thanks. I am happy with it, but it was a bit of an anti-climax finishing it – I think just because I was in a slightly panicked state, and the last bits were the ones I had most problems with! But I’m sure once I’m wearing it on the beach I’ll love it! I haven’t even bothered with toothbrush or underwear in hand luggage – I can buy them there, but the swimsuit is irreplaceable!

  2. ShanniLoves July 8, 2013 at 01:30 #

    Enjoy your holiday! Can’t wait to see pics of the Bombshell on! I’m just about finished with mine and I’m loving it! Such an awesome swimsuit!!

    • Kelly July 15, 2013 at 07:18 #

      Thanks! Back from hols now, so photos to follow shortly. I love your one, such a great copycat of the one you saw!

Leave a Reply

chinelo bally

Dressmaker| Author| Blogger| Freehand cutter

infectiousstitches

Sewing, quilting and pattern making

Red Hot Rosie

Sewing Vintage for Dummies (that'd be Me)

Laura After Midnight

Behind the seams at Midnight Costume Services!

ZegnaJewelry

ZEGNA ASTON handmade

Sarabwritings's Blog

Life's Musings...being unemployed, starting out as a freelancer, and planning a wedding

stitchnsew

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Feel the fear and sew it anyway

Don't be afraid - it's only fabric!

Dresses & Me

I love to sew

Drama Queen Seams

Where handmade is back in style...

Awesome Åshild

Did You Do A "Something Every Day" Today?

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

christineshellard9

Late comer to climbing and want to share that experience with others

What Would Nancy Drew Wear?

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

I want to be a turtle

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

Molly's Sewing and Garage Sale Adventures

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

Tea For Two

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

Gertie's New Blog for Better Sewing

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

Tilly and the Buttons

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

'So, Zo...'

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

