The Baguette Quiver

28 Jun

At the beginning of May, we headed off on a bouldering (climbing, without the ropes, and on lower rocks!) trip to Fontainebleau in France. Before we went, one of the other climbers, who’s been a few times before, mentioned that one of the important things to consider is how you are going to carry your baguette for lunch. Every morning, someone does a run up to the Boulangerie in the village and picks up enough baguettes for everyone, but apparently, figuring out how to carry it without it getting completely squished can be an issue when you are also carrying daypacks, bouldering mats etc.

On some prompting, I decided to come up with a solution to this problem, and so was born my baguette quiver. I had a hunt in Masons and decided to make it out of some linen mix fabric. I think twill would have been nice (I’m a big fan of baking bread and came across this recommendation when looking for the best ways to store it) but I couldn’t find any.

It was fairly easy to put together – I think it only took me about half an hour in total. The biggest issue was deciding what size to make it. I wasn’t sure how long French baguettes were. I made it about 30 inches long and, actually, it could have done with being a good deal shorter. Turns out French baguettes are shorter than their British counterparts. Who knew. It’s fine, it just means that when the baguettes are in there, there’s a lot of extra room at the top. Maybe I’ll chop a bit off the bottom sometime and shorten it. I think it’s about 15″ in circumference, which makes it big enough to hold at least 4 baguettes.
baguette quiver 1

I worked out how long I needed the strap to be (basically enough that I could wear it across my body), folded the raw edges inside and decided to topstitch the edges of that in red, to match the cord that I had for it. I then pinned the strap onto the main fabric, a few inches down from the top, and about two thirds of the way down. Actually, this was probably the hardest bit – I always forget whether I’m looking at the inside or the outside of the finished item when I’m doing this, and end up pinning it so that the strap ends up on the inside! Once I’d made sure the strap was actually going to be attached to the outside, I sewed along the bottom and up the side of the main piece, stopping short at the top to allow room to make a casing for the drawcord. The fabric had a really nice natural edge, so I left that as it was, and folded it back down over the top to give it a bit of a collar. Although as you can see in the photo below, this kind of sticks out a bit when the drawstring is closed, I might stitch it down to the main fabric to make it a bit neater. I then sewed my drawcord casing, put the cord through and we were done!

I’m really pleased with how it came out, and it definitely came in useful. I have a feeling I may have requests to make a few more before the next trip. I’m hoping it might come in handy for a few other things as well. It was nice to have a project that was so quick to sew up, even if it did elicit a few raised eyebrows from Marcus when I said that I was ‘making my baguette quiver’. baguette quiver 2

Baguette Quiver

Here it is in action in Font!

3 Responses to “The Baguette Quiver”

  1. Stitch'n'Knit June 28, 2013 at 18:05 #

    Lady, you’re ready to bacome an honorary French person! With regards to the size, I think the so-called “baguettes” in the UK are actual French “flûtes”.

    • Kelly July 1, 2013 at 09:04 #

      Hehe, thanks Marion! I’m honoured! Is a flute bigger than a baguette then?

  2. tania@sewitanyway July 4, 2013 at 19:20 #

    Genius! And too big just means room for the required cheese too. And wine if not too heavy?! ;)

Leave a Reply

chinelo bally

Dressmaker| Author| Blogger| Freehand cutter

infectiousstitches

Sewing, quilting and pattern making

Red Hot Rosie

Sewing Vintage for Dummies (that'd be Me)

Laura After Midnight

Behind the seams at Midnight Costume Services!

ZegnaJewelry

ZEGNA ASTON handmade

Sarabwritings's Blog

Life's Musings...being unemployed, starting out as a freelancer, and planning a wedding

stitchnsew

A topnotch WordPress.com site

Feel the fear and sew it anyway

Don't be afraid - it's only fabric!

Dresses & Me

I love to sew

Drama Queen Seams

Where handmade is back in style...

Awesome Åshild

Did You Do A "Something Every Day" Today?

Buzy Day

The adventure of NikkiM

christineshellard9

Late comer to climbing and want to share that experience with others

What Would Nancy Drew Wear?

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

I want to be a turtle

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

Molly's Sewing and Garage Sale Adventures

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

Tea For Two

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

Gertie's New Blog for Better Sewing

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

Tilly and the Buttons

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

'So, Zo...'

Adventures in sewing and other crafty endeavours.

